• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Muzzle Crown Damaged or Dirty on Bergara HMR?

JustPractical

Private
Minuteman
Feb 27, 2023
East Coast of United States
Hello all! I'm new to sniperhide (and long range shooting) - looking forward to learning and eventually contributing. I picked up a used Bergara B-14 HMR in 6.5 Creedmoor. It appeared to me that the muzzle brake/compensator was on crooked and upside down (ports facing down instead of up). I took it off (appeared to be held on with Locktite) and cleaned it up and put it on how I believed it was supposed to go (top ports up and side ports level left and right).

My questions:
1) Am I correct with the muzzle placement (ignore the steel color of the shims. It is what I had around - I tried to blue them but they must be stainless)?
2) Looking for opinions on the barrel crown. Pics are after a soaking and brass brush cleaning. I was spooked to get more aggresive; I'm not sure if it is damage or dirt. Ignore the fuzzies - give it wipe with paper towel before pic.

Any opinions or advice are greatly appreciated.

2023-02-24 19.46.22.jpg2023-02-24 19.47.59.jpg2023-02-24 19.48.01.jpg2023-02-24 19.48.07.jpgmuzzle brake.jpg

Last edited:
That’s carbon build up. Put some gun brite polish on a large patch. Like 50 cal size cleaning patch and start rubbing with your thumb. You’ll need a decent amount of patches and elbow grease to get that clean. If you clean each time by removing the brake it becomes much easier vs leaving it go which is what happened here

You’ll likely not get it completely clean before you give up 😁

Brake looks fine

Reactions: trob