• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Muzzle hops to the left- help me diagnose it please

SBRSarge

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 9, 2019
My question;
Shooting prone, I tried to load the bipod but it always just scooted away from me. It’s a Harris with the standard feet on rough concrete. I concentrated on pulling with the firing hand’s middle fingers, laying the thumb along the receiver, and supporting the butt on the rear bag with my support hand holding it tight. Upon firing, the muzzle hops to the left. I am right handed. I guess at least the hop to the left is consistent!

Is there a common cause for this?

The back story;
I’ve been shooting for about 45 years, self taught. I’ve been watching the videos here on prone shooting (support hand and firing hand roles, for instance) and found that my shooting style kind of sucks. I’m get excited when I shoot 1.25” at 100yds, and I usually see 1.5” to 2”. Smaller groups of around an inch are occasional occurrences at best. Sub 1 inch groups pretty much never happen.

I bought some Black Hills 40gr V-Max loads (blue box) and went out today and tried to apply what I gleaned from the prone shooting vids. I shot my three best groups ever, .4, .52 and .8 inches for five shot groups at 100yds. I am ecstatic. I will hug Frank if ever we meet. I mean, in a manly way, of course, you know...! But now I wonder how much better I can do. And yes, I will be seeking out some training either through Snipers Hide or the Marksmanship Training Center here in Michigan.

I built the gun. It is a 16” 5.56 (or 223 Wylde, maybe) Wilson barrel in a Sun Devil matched receiver group. Sig direct thread 556 can. Nightforce 2.5-20 scope. Geissele SD-E trigger. I put it all together and am pretty damn proud of it!