• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report muzzle velocity... not as simple as it has been made to seem..

njaimo

Online Training Member
Minuteman
Aug 9, 2014
Alberta
A while back there was a post (and video) about muzzle velocity (MV) not being the same prone versus sitting at the bench. There was also thorough research/measurement done by Bryan at Applied Ballistics and detailed in one of his books, for testing chronographs. I want to throw caution to the wind presenting my take...

I am an engineer, old enough to likely be losing it, but I still recall some Physics, and the concept of "measurements depend on the location of the observer, i.e. where is the measuring device". ...patience, do read on...

To me we use the term MV in conflicting ways, and not all measurements we take are the same. MV means the velocity of the bullet as it leaves the muzzle, that is the velocity of the exiting bullet as referenced to the muzzle. Of all the chronographs I am aware of, only MagnetoSpeed measures this, since it is attached to the barrel at the muzzle -- the observer is sitting on the muzzle, and thus the motion of the muzzle (as in recoil) is irrelevant. All the other chronographs, including LabRadar measure bullet velocity with reference to the ground -- the observer is sitting on a chair next to you. There is a difference.... for LAbRadar measurements, the motion of the barrel/rifle under recoil is taken into account. I suggest below you have both, a MagnetoSpeed and a land referenced chronograph if you want to master consistency in recoil management.