• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report My .308 Ladder Test Results

Josh Elam

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 31, 2011
Memphis
This is my first time hand loading on my own. I loaded 70 rounds total with 10 rounds on 42.5, 43.0, 43.5, 44.0, 44.5, 45.0gr of varget inside once fired winchester full length sized brass, Fed gm210m primers, smk175, at 2.800". I was expecting to see groups open up and then tighten back as I went through the different charges. Here is my target
12%253A16%253A12%2520groups.jpg

I shot these prone off a atlas bipod and rear bag. I'm not a perfect shot and I know I pulled 3 of the shots but didnt note which ones they were at the time. It was a windy day but I tried my best to wait for it to slow between shots. I expected to see more variation in the groups then I would concentrate around those. What do you guys suggest I do next? None of the brass showed pressure signs so I will also take a step over 45gr. These were at 100 yards and I will reshoot some at 300 yards. Any input?

Re: My .308 Ladder Test Results

Good shooting. I would work up from 45.0 in smaller increments. I usually work in 0.2 increments until I get pressure signs then go 0.1 either way depending on groups.

What were your muzzle velocity deviations? If you didn't run a chrono, or can't get access to one, run them at 300 or more and see what vertical dispersion you have.

might have a mode at 43.0 and it might be drifting back into a higher mode at 45.0, but both of these calls are just guesses.
I might just pick 45.0, shoot it at longest distance possible for vertical dispersion and if that is good, call it a load and get shooting.

Need more info on gun/barrel length/scope etc...