• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My .308 PSR Build Journal

XRanger08

Private
Minuteman
Jan 3, 2014
Pennslyvania
Hello everyone,

I am a new member on for forum but I have been crawling through all the posts for several months now. For my first post on the hide I plan on doing a Picture and text build journal of my custom bolt gun. This will be updated periodically on the progress of the build with pictures and brief description of what was done and what the next step will be. Most of the build items are already set in stone as I have been working on this build for months now. Some items might change, the proposed build list will be done in descending order from Highest price item to lowest.

PROPOSED BUILD PLAN:

Scope: Leupold Mark6 with H59 Reticle or Schimidt & Bender PMII with MSR Reticle

Chassis: Cadex Defense Strike Lite

Suppressor: SureFire 7.62 SOCOM MINI

Action: Stryker Ridge HTR by Defiance Machine with Extra Deep Fluting

Bi-Pod: Long Range Accuracy Tactical Bi-Pod or Atlas with QD

Barrel: Krieger #10 Contour MTU .30cal 5R 416SS 29" Blank cut to 22" or 20"/ Will be fluted to match the Defiance Extra Deep Fluting on the bolt

Scope Mount: BoBro QD 34mm One Piece Mount or Sphur 34mm One Piece Mount

Trigger: Timney Calvin Elite 700 or Rifle Basix 700

Muzzle Break: Surefire 5/8x24 RH Muzzle Break

Monopd: Accu-Shot

Bolt Knob: Surgeon Tactical

The entire gun will go for QPQ process on every metal surface as the finish for the rifle.

Chose .308 for a few reasons.

Barrel Life
Commonality of ammo
Couple thousand rounds of 168 SMK ammunition next to the gun safe.

XRanger08

Last edited: