• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

My first load development!

SDmtnbkr

Private
Minuteman
Feb 2, 2013
San Diego, CA
Hi all! I'm brand new to reloading and precision shooting in general but after a post here asking about getting into reloading a local guy reached out to me and has been mentoring me for the last few weeks on reloading and load development! THANKS so much to diego-ted!!

So with the crazy shortage in pretty much everything Ted was nice enough to donate good Federal brass, primers, powder, equipment and tons of his time to my cause! I was able to snag up some GRAF 175gr HPBT (SMK seconds I've been told) to round out the supplies needed. After about 2 weeks meeting several times a week I've learned so much! I know I have miles and miles to go, but I can't thank Ted enough for shorting the initial learning curve buy miles... and months!!

Not sure how i'm supposed to post this so here goes...

Rifle is: a bone stock Rem 700 SPS - Varmint 26" 1/12 twist .308 w/Vortex PST 6-24 FFP
Distance is: 100 yards - Indoor range
Rounds are: Fed brass, Fed 210 primer, Hodgdon BLC-(2), 175gr SMK (2nds), cases set to SAMI headspace

The first go about we started with SAMI COAL at 2.800 which resulted in the Ogive being 2.111 or .124 off the lands. I used Hodgdon BLC-(2) in .5 gr incriments, here's what I got: These are 3 shot groups (I only had 19 pieces of brass so I couldn't do 5).

(don't pay attention to the 3 rounds with the X's, there was a target below to sight my scope but it was so far off it was impacting over 1ft high and right, haha)
39v4.jpg