• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My First Rifle

Jthoss0837

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 19, 2010
Greenville, South Carolina
So after much time and persuading i finally got my first rifle.
I did alot of reading here on the hide and elsewhere i decided, because im a beginner id get a Remington 700 SPS Varmit in .308. I then ordered an EGW 0MOA Base, and Burris XTR 1" low rings (1/4" i think?). Well i got the rifle all set up, sighted it in and shot some cheap Winchester 150gr Softpoint hunting rounds at 100 yards, I personally shot about a 1" group, but i figured it was me, muggy day, bugs, laying in the dirt shooting off a sandbag etc. I believe that i still have a ton to learn, and i guarantee this rifle can out shoot me. But i looked around the crown and noticed this (see pics below.) Im not sure what it is. Before shooting that day i cleaned the gun, Boresnake, Two - Three patches of Powder Solvent, Brass brush 5 times, dry patches, 2 with rem oil, and two dry ones. Oiled up the action a tid bit around the moving parts, and went. Any idea what this is? Im new to the shooting world, and haven't been exposed to the barrel problems. Should i just clean the gun again? I dont want to overclean it, nor did i "Break in the barrel"
Any help would be appreciated! Going shooting tomorrow and hopefully i can shoot a decent group, regardless ill post it here.

(The cloth is wrapping some mouse pad cut ups, so i can get a better cheek weld until i upgrade the stock.)
Rifle4.jpg

Rifle1.jpg

Rifle3.jpg

Rifle2.jpg

Re: My First Rifle