• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My first stick,,,,,,Thank's to the Hide!!

slayer 2c

Still working on it
Minuteman
  • Jan 18, 2011
    Lost.........
    Hi all! I wanted to take a moment to introduce my new stick to all you here on The Hide. It might not be the greatest AI or a customer Gap nail driver, but every bit of it is mine and every bit was chosen with help from here on The Hide.

DSC03579.jpg

I started with a Rem 700-AAC after doing a ton of research here and listening to all the advantages and disadvantages of all the platforms in my price range I decided that the 700-AAC was the best start for me. I am new to this sport and like all new guys I have that 1000 yard shot in my dreams, and I thought the 1:10 twist would be best to stabilize the 175gr out to those ranges. Small disclaimer, I’ve no plans to even try the 1000 yard line for a long time; I’ve got no delusions of my skill yet! In time I shall ring that 1000 yard gong but not yet, and not for a while.

After deciding on the AAC I read every post that had anything to do with the rifle I could find. The one thing I realized was that the supply of the 700-AACs seemed to be running low so I turned to the Hide for help finding my new rifle. I had tried every local gun store, Cabelas, Bud’s, and a thousand other online stores with no luck. That’s when Hide member punkpigpen posted up that a store in Jamieson PA had one in stock for $599. A couple of e-mails, a phone call, and an hour and a half drive and I had my very own 700-AAc and was on my way.