• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My grandfather gave me this the other day....

jaket13

Private
Minuteman
May 30, 2009
Pennsylvania
I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place but a few weeks ago my grandfather handed me this rifle and told me to enjoy it.
It's pretty old, the rifle says 1894 Springfield Armory
I love how it shoots, but I was wondering if it would be worth anything?
here are some pics:
IMG_0620.jpg
IMG_0618.jpg
IMG_0619.jpg

IMG_0626.jpg

Re: My grandfather gave me this the other day....

oh man I'm new to this so i don't know what provenance is... and yeah my Dad said it was modified so that probably messed everything up but I thought I'd still ask you guys
wait.. i looked it up.. provenance means where its from? I really don't know but I could ask my grandpap if that has any bearing on the rifle's worth

provenance sometimes adds value and worth to a wider range of collectors not Germain to the piece ....

It appears to be a .30-40 Krag-Jorgenson. Based on a Norwegian design originally chambered in 6.5x55 (I believe...) it was the predecessor to the M1903 and M1917.

Springfield Model 1892-99.