• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My take on the Mk12 Mod1 SPR

vmpglenn

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 4, 2004
Fitchburg, WI
Since I am an AR expert (read: I have a few tools) and since I know better than the armorers at NSWC Crane (read: I don't even know what I don't know), I thought I'd take it upon myself to precision craft (read: assemble while the kids are asleep) my interpretation of the classic SPR...

556spr_900.jpg

556spr_can_900.jpg

Upper receiver: WOA
BCG: LMT
Barrel: Superior Barrels 18" SPR contour, .223 Wylde chamber, rifle-length gas system, HardBlue finish, from a 1:7 Douglas blank
Muzzle device: Surefire flash hider
Gas block: LaRue low profile, twin set screws, 0.750" diameter
Handguard: LaRue LT15-12
Lower: Factory LMT, SOPMOD stock
Trigger: Geissele DMR 2 stage
Front BUIS: Troy
Rear BUIS: KAC 600 meter
Scope mount: LaRue SPR-S, 10MOA slope
Scope: NF 2.5-10x32 mil/mil zero stop, 3GS cattail
Suppressor: Surefire full-size

The rifle balances nicely, the scope is excellent, the trigger is smooth and crisp, and the Surefire cans are great. My go-to load will be SSA's 5.56-pressure 77gr SMK factory round.

Re: My take on the Mk12 Mod1 SPR

Very nice!

I love a good SPR.

I would recommend a good PMAG to replace the old GI mag though...

Very nice! Here's my interpretation.

SPR_CLE_ST10_L.jpg

Now it wears a NF 3.5-15x50.(FastFire still piggybacked.) BBL is a CLE from a Douglas blank w/ matched bolt. Geissle SSA. LMT Enhanced Carrier (Carrier only.) Mine has a Midlength gas so I decided to slow it down a bit with the carrier and an H-Buffer. Still waiting on Form 4 approval on my Ops Inc 12th.