• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Myth?: Variable power scopes have shifting zero

SandLine

Private
Minuteman
Jul 12, 2009
I'm sure this is a noobie question but I'll ask anyway...

Is the zero on a variable power scope only good for the magnification level at which it was zeroed? i.e. if I zero the rifle on 22x, would it no longer be zeroed if I changed the magnification to 6x?

If this is the case, does anyone have an explanation for why this occurs?

Re: Myth?: Variable power scopes have shifting zero

On any half decent variable, they should stay zeroed throught out the magnification range.

It wasn't always like that though, especially on cheap scopes with reticules in the second focal plane..

I'm not an optical engineer so can't really explain why it happened...

Re: Myth?: Variable power scopes have shifting zer

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pete E</div><div class="ubbcode-body">On any half decent variable, they should stay zeroed throught out the magnification range.
</div></div>

Good to know. So as long as I get a Leupold or something of greater quality, I should be fine? Even if the reticle is in the second focal plane?

If you find a variable scope where the point of aim varies as the power ring is turned, send it in for repair - because it's broken - or just throw it away. No variable scope from a reputable manufacturer will do that.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lindy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you find a variable scope where the point of aim varies as the power ring is turned, send it in for repair - because it's broken - or just throw it away. No variable scope from a reputable manufacturer will do that.