• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Near Kaboom--Wake Up Call!!

rsplante

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 2, 2011
Houston, TX
eek.gif
I've been reloading for a few months, approximately 600 rounds, and just received a serious wake-up call. This is intended for fellow newbies as the rest of you know better. The situation I am about to describe nearly caused me to require an underwear change, and could have potentially cost me my rifle/hand/life. The round in question involved once fired Lake City brass, a .224 77gr SMK bullet, GM205M primer, 25gr of VARGET powder, and an RL550B progressive loader. I weigh every powder charge, and I try to be careful to ensure I do not double-charge a round. In this case, I failed in the other direction.