• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

neck sizer die....important?

karb

Private
Minuteman
Apr 6, 2009
I'm going to try my hand at rifle handloads soon (done pistol), and have a ton of .243 once fired through my Win.70
The dies came in for the 243 the other day, and happen to be a redding set with only two dies....no neck sizer. I called the vendor, and he explained I do not need the neck sizer if i'm shooting the same brass through the same rifle....that is to say it's fire formed to the rifle.

Since i'm new to this, and you guys have great experience in all directions on this, I'd like to get your opinion(s) on it.
If I do need the neck sizer, could I get a better explaination as to why?

Thanks guys.... Best forum yet!!

Re: neck sizer die....important?

Neck sizer does less work on the brass and therefore prolongs the life of your brass. While the vendor's statement is true, per se, I only neck size my brass for my bolt guns. Of course, you can always full-length resize each time you shoot, but that's more work and shortens lifespan of the brass. Most die sets don't include the neck sizer and must be purchased separately. Now, if you are shooting through a gas gun, then more than likely you have to FL size your brass each time.

If two dies came with your set, they are probably a full-length resizer and a seater die. If so, the full-length resizer reforms the body AND the neck for you.

Neck-sizer dies just reform the neck without reforming the length of the brass.

All I use for my bolt gun are the full-length resizer (Redding Type-S with a bushing about .003" smaller than the measured outside diameter of a loaded round) and the seater die. It works great.

Enjoy,
Bob