• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Neck turning

Kevin 53

Private
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2011
mississippi
I'm new at reloading and I wanted to ask about neck turning. I'm shooting 6.5 creedmoor and I have heard that the necks sometimes will have more material on one side causing the bullet to have wider groups. Is this true? Is neck turning worth doing for tighter groups?

Thanks Kevin

Re: Neck turning

Taking your questions in reverse order:

<span style="font-style: italic">1. "Is neck turning worth doing for tighter groups?"</span>

Yes, IF you have great loading skills, and an excellant rifle with a tight chamber (non-SAAMI/Factory). You aren't there yet.

<span style="font-style: italic">2. "I have heard that the necks sometimes will have more material on one side causing the bullet to have wider groups. Is this true?"</span>

Not guite true; it isn't "sometimes", it's normal. But how much runout will have what effect is dependant on the three points in answer one.

<span style="font-style: italic">3. "I'm new at reloading and I wanted to ask about neck turning."</span>

You have a lot to learn and a lot of skills to develop before it makes much difference, if any at all, so that's a complexity best left alone for now. There's a lot more to precision loading than simply turning necks. Come back and ask about neck turning again when you get your reloaded groups into a constant 1 Minute of Angle.

Load, shoot, learn the basics, have fun and give yourself time to get grounded in the fundamentals.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Fuzzball</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Taking your questions in reverse order: