• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Need a bolt knob on my Remmy 700 - who still does

700X7.62

Private
Minuteman
Mar 8, 2009
USA
Hello everyone! This is my first post here, I am new to long-range shooting but not shooting and I just bought a 700 in .308 and I am having a hell of a time finding someone that will thread my handle or weld a oversized bolt knob. I tried searching through these forums and called Pacific Tool & Gauge as people here mentioned them but they do not do this work. I also found some post with members saying they do the work & emailed them but no one replied and I don't think they are still active members.

I found a guy on a California Long-Range website who had a machinest friend that had been layed off and this guy was throwing work his way so I overnighted it to him and a week latter I get a Paypal refund and a note saying this guy dosen't "do bolt handles" anymore - guess he has not been unemployed long enough!

Any ideas where I could get this done and a decent turn-around time? Also on my searching through this forum it seem that people prefer the knobs being Tig welded over threading the knob and using a Badger Ordance Tac knob.

Thanks!

Re: Need a bolt knob on my Remmy 700 - who still does

AZPrecision has done all of mine. less than a week turn around an the best pricing I have seen. Give him a shout. He is on the hide, just do a search and you will find him. Kieth Johns is his name.

Sgt. Ross

There are several people here on the 'Hide that do that kind of work. Just ask for photos to make sure what design you want.