• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Need a good 300 RUM formula

waveone

Private
Minuteman
Jul 16, 2007
Texas
Hey guys,

Anyone have a good formula for the 300RUM Sendero?

This will be one of my new hunting rigs and I was wondering if there were any suggstions?

thanks for your time

Re: Need a good 300 RUM formula

Try R25 or Retumbo.
I settled on 95gr of R25 pushing a 190VLD at 3250fps out of my Sendero.

THanks man. So you use the VLD's for hunting?

I'm wondering how 180 corbon loads would do? I've shot them through my 300wm with good results.

The VLD is a killer fo sho.
I have no experience with lighter bullets in the RUM.

THat's what I like to hear.

Have you tried it on big animals like elk?

i was using 91 gr of RL-25 over a 180 gr. accubond with a case over all length of 3.680 was getting 3/4 moa out of a factory remington CDL

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RHutch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No elk, just deer and yotes. </div></div>

Hmmm, gotta be effective on elk and mulies.

Although I see no reason at that speed and that size of a projectile that wouldn't do the job.

In fact, 180's would probably go a couple hundred feet faster and retain more energy.

Any thoughts?

A little Googlin' on Berger bullets will tell the story. I doubt elk would be a problem. I have seen 2 mulies killed with the <span style="text-decoration: line-through">190 berger</span> 180 berger (7RUM) out to a bit over 300yds.

IMO, the RUM is best used with heavier 30cal projos. The 190 I am using is on the light side of the RUM spectrum but I wouldnt hesitate to plug an elk with it. Elk are killed stone dead with lesser cartridges every year.