• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Need a low priced upgrade, help me out

Jethro21

Private
Minuteman
Sep 23, 2011
Phoenix,Az, USA
Hey guys, I am new to the long range shooting game. I put together my rifle with a scope that I had, a Nikon Buckmasters 4-14. It has served me well but I think I have come to a place where I need to make a change.

Shooting with my buddy the other day I could really see where a mil dot set up, especially a mil/mil setup is desirable. I also found myself adjusting my current scope to the place that the elevation began to feel very spongy and hard to adjust.

So, I am looking at selling my current scope to a buddy and making a small upgrade. I have looked at the SS 10x40 for awhile but just started looking at the Falcon Menace lineup.

I spent about 3 hours last night looking at previous posts on this and other sites about the Falcon Menace 4-14 and if I follow the opinions right they look to be about better than average or so as far as fit/function/durability. I like the variable power (though not necessary) but especially like the mil/mil setup.

This scope will be a interim until my next raise comes through and I will upgrade, probably to a Vortex pst. I know that right near my price range is the Vortex 5-15 through Midway, but it is unavailable at the moment and I forgot to mention I need this scope within a week when I have a class I am attending.

So what should I do? Would I be taking a risk on the Falcon Menace or would my money be better spent with the SS (knowing they are great scopes for the money)?

Thanks guys,
Jethro

Re: Need a low priced upgrade, help me out