• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need a scale

Lunar95

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Apr 9, 2019
So i know this has been asked alot but most threads seems a bit dated.

I am new to reloading and only plan to shoot out to my 1200

The very last item i need is a scale. Are these high dollar scales overkill? I'm sure I could just "get by" with a cheapo scale but I don't want SDs like 15+ so I need a decent balance.

Are their a few options out their or am I kinda SOL?

Last edited:
There are numerous recent threads/posts on this topic, this one adds to the pile.

“I only plan to shoot out to my 1200” - edit this part for clarity, not sure what your 1200 means (guessing you are simply stating that you will shooting your rifle(s) to 1200 yards/meters.

Also “there” , not “their”.

Scales: Chargemaster or Autotrickler set up, depending on your budget, needs and shooting application(s).

Aside: Finely controlling neck tension is just as important (if not even more so) for achiving as much consistency as possible in your MVs. Just fyi since you’re new to reloading and mentioned SD

Last edited:
https://www.amazon.com/Lyman-Gen6-Digital-Powder-Measure/dp/B00AU6CIUO is all I spent on mine and some 2k rounds later its still working great just don't forget to close the powder gate it makes a mess otherwise but when it dies I wanna
maybe by then the price will come down a lot or a newer version will be around costing more money always chasing the pretty new shiny object .

I’ve got two of the Chargemasters by RCBS. I like them and have served me rather well.
One is good, two is much faster. Especially when loading up 200 rounds the night before a match.