• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need advice choosing first scope - Atacr 4-20 vs 5-25

RHINO69

Private
Minuteman
Oct 24, 2023
California
I am putting together my first bolt gun (20" 6.5CM CTR). It is going into a KRG x-ray.

Right now I have the option to buy either a atacr 4-20x50 Mil-C or a atacr 5-25x56 T3. They are essentially the same price but I am unsure which to go with. The rifle will be primarily used as a range gun but possibly for hunting (hog/coyote, maybe deer?).

This is my first build so any advice would be appreciated. I know this is not an ideal hunting rifle, or bench rifle. I was looking to slap together a sort of hybrid to learn on.

Thanks

Which reticle do you like more? They are totally deferent types. You wont need a T3 for hunting but could use it for the range gun part.
I personally would go with the 5-25x56 T3 since you said it will more of a range use rifle. If it was hunting oriented I would and say the less magnification and less busy reticle 4-20x50 Mil-C would be my choice.

I am putting together my first bolt gun (20" 6.5CM CTR). It is going into a KRG x-ray.

Right now I have the option to buy either a atacr 4-20x50 Mil-C or a atacr 5-25x56 T3. They are essentially the same price but I am unsure which to go with. The rifle will be primarily used as a range gun but possibly for hunting (hog/coyote, maybe deer?).

This is my first build so any advice would be appreciated. I know this is not an ideal hunting rifle, or bench rifle. I was looking to slap together a sort of hybrid to learn on.

Thanks
Being a newb, I would recommend going with the MIL-XT reticle over the T3, regardless of what NF scope you choose.