• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Need advise/help making cerakote finishing oven...

razoredgeknives

Private
Minuteman
I have been searching for a while online and can't really find the answer... I have some basic wiring knowledge, but not much, so please deal with me as a noob when it comes to electrical stuff. My question is: how do I set up the heating element (i.e. from an old oven) to where I can control the heat in the oven?

I am wanting to get an old upright freezer off of craigslist, line it with high temp insulation (on the inside) and then put the heating element/thermocouple in. I just have no idea: 1. what the heating element connects to to give it heat, obviously you don't just take the wires from the extension cord and solder them to the element. 2. what I need to purchase to monitor and control the temp. 3. how i wire it all up.

Does anyone have any good resources/websites they can point me to? or just walk me through the process? Any help would be greatly appreciated... thank you.

Josh

I have been searching for a while online and can't really find the answer... I have some basic wiring knowledge, but not much, so please deal with me as a noob when it comes to electrical stuff. My question is: how do I set up the heating element (i.e. from an old oven) to where I can control the heat in the oven?