• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need gear advice for NRL Hunter

tjassman84

Private
Minuteman
Mar 13, 2013
Mission,South Dakota
Want to start shooting the NRL Hunter Series and need advice on shooting bags, backpack, and any other gear a dipshit would need before looking silly. Thanks in advance

are there meaningful restrictions on the support bag designs for NRL Hunter?

tagging along for info

I've only shot one but I've been following the podcasts and AARs for the other events, as well. I'm new to all this so I pick the brains of squadmates and note what seems to be working and what doesn't. I'd say a decent tripod that you can shoot off of is the only must outside of the gun and rangefinder (although as was posted in an earlier thread, you could range oldschool with mil calculation). There were a LOT of Sig Kilo3000s. I'd say more of those than anything else for spotting and ranging duties. Pack as many beanbags as you feel like carrying. I think some sort of gamechanger and a rear bag would fill pretty much every bag role you'd run into (disclaimer: I'm no beanbag expert. a lot of people ran lots of shapes and sizes of bags but they basically did those two things. Some people had big ol tactical pillows. Too silly looking for me). Some folks run Kestrels but I live down in the South where we don't have all those western gale force winds to contend with so I'd say thats a big optional. Honestly, you could probably run with a doggone Jansport bag if you had to. At the match I went to, my truck was always close by so if I had to, I could run to it to grab something. I didn't but it was an option.