• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need Help--308 Brass Growth and Stuck Cases in Rem 700

Savagesweat

Private
Minuteman
Feb 8, 2012
I've looked for clues all over the internet and in my reloading books, but so far I have come up short in trying to solve a problem I'm having with my 308 loads. I've been working on solving this off and on for a few months with no luck.

I have loaded successfully for years in a bunch of handgun calibers and so far, all my .223 loads have been solid, no problems there. However, I am relatively new to loading 308. This could be just another one of my idiot moments, and if so, I could use some help from you guys to see what I'm messing up here.

The problem I'm having is that after I pull the trigger on my 700, sending a bullet downrange, I try to extract the case, but I have an incredibly difficult time opening the bolt and pulling it rearward. The brass gets stuck in the chamber. Because this happened on my first reloads, I was afraid that I accidentally over-charged my cartridges somehow. After further analysis, I don't think this is the problem, though, because it happens on all my cartridges and for every single one, I trickle my powder into the cases and measure carefully on my Dillon digital scale. I chronographed everything, as I always do when working up a new load. Here are my load data:

--Remington 700 SPS tactical mounted in an XLR Industries chassis.
--178 grain A-max
--Varget powder, charge weights varying between 43.0 and 44.5 grains in 0.3 grain increments
--Velocities ranged between approximately 2500 and 2570fps. I had been hoping for a little higher velocity, but I guess I'm glad I wasn't accidentally shooting super hot rounds.
--Winchester large rifle primers