• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need Help: Applied Ballistics 22 LR

bghartm

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jan 22, 2020
Iowa
Two years ago I started shooting rimfire PRS with my son. We struggled to get dope correct in AB but managed to get through 2 seasons. I built a much better rifle this winter (Vudoo 360) with Manners stock. I went out last weekend to get real world data. We shot 10 different distances and recorded elevation adjustments. Today I tried changing settings in AB to no avail. On average it shows elevation is too low (2-3 clicks) under 110 yards. At 60 yards it shows 6 clicks under actual. Over 110 yards, on average it 2-3 clicks over. I have adjust site height a couple times to no avail. I am using the Lapua Center X bullet in AB. Chrono speeds using labradar are average around 1080. Any help is appreciated. I dont want to guess anymore in competition.

either you have one setting off or you have a series of small errors stacking. You aren't using one of AB's private drag models for the Center X are you? That is specific to the barrel actually tested. I would try small adjustments to the speed and then slight adjustments to BC if necessary. You should be able to make it match within .1 or so. I was able to get Stelok, my Kestrel and actual to match to .1

either you have one setting off or you have a series of small errors stacking. You aren't using one of AB's private drag models for the Center X are you? That is specific to the barrel actually tested. I would try small adjustments to the speed and then slight adjustments to BC if necessary. You should be able to make it match within .1 or so. I was able to get Stelok, my Kestrel and actual to match to .1