• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need help choosing a caliber..Free Opinons here!

57wade

Private
Minuteman
Dec 24, 2009
TX
I have shot a 700 Rem .308 my adult life. It is all stock with a nice local gun shop scope. I am wanting to move up to a nice custom gun with a long range caliber. I sure like the AI in the .338 Lap, but I am not sure that would be the best choice. I have plenty of self taught shooting experience with a longest kill (deer) of 825 yards. I know that is not far for a lot of you, but that was a great shot for me. I really would like to spend the rest of my adult life learning the 1000+ shot constantly. What caliber would you all recommend and what brand or gun smith would you recommend. I am in the Houston area. Thanks for all your help!!!

Re: Need help choosing a caliber..Free Opinons here!

1st choice 7 wsm, [even though the winchester brass requires more work than a caliber with brass made by lapua], 2nd choice 300 win mag...338 lapua is a great caliber but much more expensive to shoot, good luck with your choice

If you hunt with it, then I would go with the 300win mag.

I thank you for your comments. I am wanting this mainly for long distance shooting. Not necessarily hunting. I need to do some looking, but isn't the 300 and 7mm in the same general world as a 308? Your in put. Thanks

You will not be disappointed with the 338 Lapua. Yes the brass, bullets and the 99 gr. of Retumbo for each shot are not cheap, but its worth every $. The 250 Lapua @ 3000 fps will get 1000 yds in 23 moa and 5 moa for 10 mph wind and still have tons of energy.

Do I read correct that the 338 lapua is only good for around 1000 rounds before your barrel is trash? Thanks