• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Need help deciding on IR Laser/Illuminator

dscl

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Jan 12, 2021
Illinois
I'm just getting into Night Vision and I'm planning to dump the majority of my budget into a PVS-14 with a really good tube. I'm therefore trying to save some cash where I can on the Laser/Illumination side of things initially. After doing a bit of research I'm considering these options (in ascending price):
  • Holosun LS321G = $650
  • Surefire M640V + Holosun LE117-IR + Modlite ModButton Lite (Dual Lead) = $798
  • Steinger DBAL-I2 9700 = $850
  • Surefire M640V + Steiner OTAL-C IR + Surefire Dual Switch = $995
  • Steiner DBAL-A3 = $1,100
Curious on the groups thoughts… Anything else to consider and stay in this price range(ish)? Are any of these a clearly superior choice? People seem to really pile on to the terrible customer service of Steiner and if I go any of the standalone units I need to add white lite into the cost as well.

If you de-neuter the Luna you have a wicked illuminator. It isn't the cleanest but it throws out some good power and is focusable.

The Dbal-D2 is big. I really don't care for it. I like the form of the Vital2's but those aren't made anymore, sadly. I have been looking at the TOR's for my PCC or something like the OTAL-C.

Last edited:
TOR plus a Luna is a great combo if using for hunting and not for tactical scenarios. Over fifty hogs to date with that setup. More buttons to press but it works, as well as being lightweight and fairly low profile.

Reactions: WhereNow&How
Are you illuminating for a clipon or wanting to use this unit to aim through the PVS14?