• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F T/R Competition %%Need help on correct way to use a bipod%%

rsplante

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 2, 2011
Houston, TX
I thought I knew how to use a bipod. I have been shooting F-TR for close to 2 years and have a 600-42X behind me at 200yd with a 5.56 black rifle. Then I heard or read someone saying something about if a person knew the right way to use a bipod. I didn't get to ask them to elaborate, but I have spent some time thinking about it. I realized that there is a difference of opinion in at least one area, that of preloading the bipod. I went with the pro side and bought some agressive feet for my Harris bipod last year. I managed to snag a set of Phoenix Tactical Pod Claws before the company seemed to vanish from the face of the earth. Then, last week, one of the bench-rest types commented that what I needed was sled type feet to prevent bipod hop. I had never noticed a problem with it hopping, but I figured, who was I to argue with someone who had two 600-59X matches. Although, I was still a little conflicted. If you don't want to preload, why do shooting mats have pockets for bipod feet? And why do they make spikey type feet for bipods? Is it just a matter of personal preference. In my mind, the bullet will have left the barrel long before the bipod hops, but I could be wrong. Finally, I decided I would bring it to my community here at the Hide. Just what is the proper way of using a bipod for precision shooting at 200-800yd?

First check on youtube for Lowlight's videos on bipod usage.