• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need help sizing DC motor for mover

A&8's

Major Hide Member
Minuteman
  • I am NOT an electrical engineer. And I'm good with that. However, I need advice from one.

I have everything installed, except the electronics, for the mover at my range. Now I need to figure out what size motor.

If any of you really smart people would like to help a fella out, I would be greatly appreciated. Hell, I'll even hire you to tell me what to get.

Let me know what figures you need and I'll get them.

We can talk here, in PM, text or on the phone. I don't care. I just need to get this thing up and running before my next match, which is coming up in about 1 1/2 weeks.

Rich
    217-855-Zero 016

How much weight does it have to move?

Presumably you’re gonna it up to a car battery?

How much weight does it have to move?

Presumably you’re gonna it up to a car battery?

It takes 8lbs pulling force to move the target on level tracks. Personally, I would rather error on the high side and get enough juice to move 20lbs, to account for debris and other in the track system.

12V Deep cycle battery, or 2 wired in parallel will be used for power. I would like 12VDC. But, 24VDC is doable, too.

Last edited:
    I am an electrical engineer, and I design motors and actuators. Your post is missing some info, such as the type of mechanism your mover would require, the speed at which you want to move the mover, etc.