• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report need help with judging wind

Mc85

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 22, 2004
Indiana
What would you trust more..., Mirage, or junk blowing around on and by the back stop,distant tree branches, grass in the field ect.?
Im shooting at a range in Indiana and I can't seem to figure out the winds there.Mirage seems to indicate one thing but the way things are blowing seems to say another. Most of the time it seems I get better results with mirage, but I am still really new at shooting past 300 yds and any help or input would be great.
Thanks
Shawn

Re: need help with judging wind

A good trick to learn also is to measure the wind speed at your location and observe the effects on the surrounding, such as small branches are swaying, loose leaves are flying and such. Then observe the same phenomenon at your target site. This is in the event that you don't have the luxury of having a flag at every 100 yards. This will give you an "educated guess" on the wind speed and perhaps direction. If go for long range, I would do the same thing somewhere between you and the target. You may have more than one wind patterns depending on where you shoot. Out here in the desert, it's a given.

1+ on wind speed at your location. I trust my cheek, but I might be little more sensitive than most. Train yourself - if you can't buy a Kestrel see if you can borrow one to train yourself. The beauty is you don't need to be at a range to practice it.