• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

K-Bars Need Help with Robust Knife Choice

Gustav7

Son of a Gun...
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Jul 18, 2019
    Ohio (OH)
    I've had shit luck with good knives over the years, so generally I carry $30-$50 knives but i'm looking for something specific this time around and see if I can hold onto it longer than normal. For reference, I've lost 2-3 knives over seas, TSA has janked 2 knives, broke 2, lost probably 2-3 in various places, etc.

I'm an arborist by trade, and my job is specifically to diagnose tree health and soil issues. I do a lot of minor scraping and cutting on twigs and fine roots, a lot of mild digging and scraping in the soil around the trunks, and opening a lot of boxes. Thats probably 80% of what I do with my pocket knife. I do have a larger soil knife for more intrusive work, but in general, I always have my pocket knife on me and so that gets used the most.

Looking for opinions on more robust, smaller pocket knives (~3" blade). Preferably ones with a tougher steel or more abrasion resistant. Not a fan of super pointy tips for my line of work or thin grinds.

As far as budget, all of my knife money goes to fancy kitchen knives, so I'd like to stay around $100 or less. If thats not possible and the solution is a super robust $30 knife that I need to replace once a year, then so be it, but I'm sure theres a good solution out there.

My current knife is a CRKT Pilar with D2 steel, and I've not been a fan. Broke the tip the first week lol.

Open to opinions and options.

How about something like a mini cleaver with a flat tip for scraping soil? Gerber Flatiron, Gerber Quadrant, KaBar MK98-Folder, etc.

I'd say check out either on of these from Kershaw: