• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need some advice for a 223 bolt gun build

r3plicator

Private
Minuteman
May 4, 2021
Milky Way
I know there's already some threads on this but I'm suffering from information overload and I need a sanity check (or reality bitch-slap).

I'm new to custom action bolt guns. I have a CZ 527 in 223 that I adore. However, I want to build a custom bolt gun in 223 that lobs the 53 grain v-max bullets into prairie dogs at 600 yards. Maybe that range is unrealistic. I dunno. I've been tagging the little buggers at 350 yards fairly consistently with the 527.

I just snagged an ARC Archimedes during their sale. Now I need a barrel. I'm thinking a 26-inch 1:12 barrel in a heavy varmint or similar profile.

I was looking at a barrel from Patriot Valley Arms. They have two free bore choices: 062 and 100. Which should I choose?

I'm also new to reloading and just started experimenting with the 223 cartridge in the CZ 527. I know I'll need to work up a different load for the custom bolt gun, but I have lot to learn.

Does any of this sound stupid? Any advice?

Are you wanting to shoot heavier bullets? With a 12 twist you're pretty limited to mostly lighter varmint bullets.

I'm not sure. I guess I was sticking to the 53 v-max because I wanted a bullet I'm familiar with and is relatively frangible. I'm not opposed to a heavier bullet. What are my choices in heavier bullets if I'm worried about a bullet skipping off into sunset?

I’d imagine with some smaller .223 varmint bullets you only need the short freebore chamber.