• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

need some advice on a issue with my brass.

Hawk Gunner

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 29, 2007
Mobile, AL
I've ran into an issue with some .308 brass and need to know if it can be fixed but more importantly what caused it.
I'm finding despite my reading and researching im still a dumb ass newbie when it comes to reloading esp prepping brass. I was donated a set of Lee dies with the Collat sizing die and did several thousand rounds of .308 with no issues. I just switched to some Hornady Match dies i was given for Christmas and have ran into a problem. After using a Neck sizing die with a .338 bushing there is a bulge maybe a pinch right where the shoulder and the main part of the brass meet along that edge. Its on every piece of brass but occurs on 1 half of the shoulder and varies between about a 1/4 and 1/2 of the diameter of the brass along the shoulder. I noticed it when i went to check the seating depth in the rifle and the bolt wouldnt close. After putting the sharpie on it, the shoulder is where it was rubbing. You really cant see it well but you can definitely feel it. I tried putting the brass in a full length sizing die but there is still a small ridge left there that catches just before the bolt handle with go down.

Is there something else i can do to fix this? Its on 4x fired federal brass so its not going to break my heart to toss the brass but i have winchester and lapua brass to use next and wanted to try and find out what i did wrong and see if there is a fix if it happens again.

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but thanks in advance for any advise you can give.

Ty

Re: need some advice on a issue with my brass.