• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New 10/22 optics help

LockOut

Private
Minuteman
Jan 24, 2009
Rochester NY
I'm looking for a scope for a 10/22 project. looking at a leupold vx1 3-9 right now. anyone have any recommendations. both cheaper and more expensive. gun isn't going to be super high end but decent. mainly a bipod shooter, not so much off a bench.

specs of the build so far are (picked it up this way minus the bipod, may be changing a few things, let me know what your recomendations are)

Adams and Bennet HB 16" .920,
Hogue Overmold Stock in OD Green,
Power Custom Competition Hammer,
Volquartsen Extended Magazine Release,
Volquartsen Hex Head Takedown Screw
Power Custom Titanium Sharp Claw Extractor
Harris 9-13" Bipod

I'm new to the world of 22, this will be my first real "build", so any advice is always welcomed from the resident experts. Thanks

Re: New 10/22 optics help

You're on the right track. You could probably get a Nikon or Bushnell with target knobs in the same price range.

Leupold sets most of its scopes to be parrallax (sp) free at 150 yards. Get a scope with an adjustable objective or send yours to Leupold and have parrallax set at 75-100. Its usually free.

I have a Mueller APV on my 10/22 and I love it. Magnification is 4.5-14 with AO Good clean glass and never had a problem with holding zero after being dropped.

Depends on what you want to do. Keep in mind that a 22lr drops off really fast, so many scopes won't have enough adjustment to reach past 150 yards.