• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing New Barrel

SavageSlayer

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 13, 2009
CA
Hi Everyone,

I am a newb here and want to learn more. I hope I am posting this in the right section.

I am in the market for a new barrel for my Savage 10FP in .308. I have never bought a replacement barrel before so the whole process is new to me. I have narrowed it down to either a Schneider or Kreiger barrel. It seems like there needs to be additional work done to the barrel after you receive it. My question is what information do I need to have and what process does the barrel need to go through when I receive it? (ie. Do I need to get it blued? What, if any, machining will have to be done?) I appreciate any all help explaining the step-by-step process.

Thank you all.

Re: New Barrel

This is where the gunsmith earns his money. Hand him your rifle and your wallet.

When a barrel is shipped typicaly what you recieve is a rifled tube that has been profiled. The threading to match it to the reciever will need to be done, the chamber still needs to be reamed, and the barrel cut to length and crowned. The finish is done afterward. As you are using a savage if you look at a couple of other barrel makers there are some that produce replacement barreles for the savage that are prechambered and threaded if you choose to stay with the barrel nut system. As for choosing your barrel do you want to stay with the same caliber? You have the option of any short action caliber preferably using the same case head size, but the bolt head on your savage is easily swapped out as well.

What Rhys said.
You can get one treaded and chambered and dyi with barrel blocks, nut wrench and head space gages.