• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New Brass

Dadbod

The New Guy
Minuteman
Dec 18, 2021
Georgia
First off let me say, I'm new to reloading, so there's that. I recently purchased my first PRS rifle in 6BR and need to start reloading for it. I have good info on the load I'm going to use but I had a question about new brass. When I hear people talk about precision loading they always refer to once fired or fired brass and this is where my question comes in. The question is this, with the scarcity and cost of Quality reloading components available, do you load your virgin brass the same as you would normally? Do you shoot a lighter load? Do you (can you) use a more readily available (or less expensive) bullet (the Berger 6mm 105g Hybrid targets are hard to find and $$$)?

Thanks,

Reactions: 338dude
First off let me say, I'm new to reloading, so there's that. I recently purchased my first PRS rifle in 6BR and need to start reloading for it. I have good info on the load I'm going to use but I had a question about new brass. When I hear people talk about precision loading they always refer to once fired or fired brass and this is where my question comes in. The question is this, with the scarcity and cost of Quality reloading components available, do you load your virgin brass the same as you would normally? Do you shoot a lighter load? Do you (can you) use a more readily available (or less expensive) bullet (the Berger 6mm 105g Hybrid targets are hard to find and $$$)?

Thanks,