• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New Build/builder and GO gauge questions

Biggern'yurs

Private
Minuteman
Nov 12, 2023
Oregon
Hey a long time wlurker but this is my first time posting. I'm starting my first foray into custom rifle building, starting simple with an action pre-fit and stock setup. I'm starting with a Kelbly's Atlas light and a carbonsix pre-fit (7prc). Ordered Manson go and no go gauges off of Reamer rentals.

I finally received the barrel and torqued to what I believe to be 100 lb spec per Kelblys. The go gauge was stiff and the bolt wouldn't seat all the way. No no-go gauge wasnt anywhere close.

I shot an email to carbonsix and they said the barrel was good if the go gauge would go even if it was stiff and the barrel should be torqued to 60 or 70 lb. I backed off the torque to 60 lb and bolt closes but there is a bit of resistance.

Does any of this seem okay? I've always read that the go gauge should go easily. I don't want to get into anything dangerous. Anything you professionals could do to help me out would be much appreciated.

I’ve only built one rifle and do not have any sort of actually smithing experience, but I did have a similar experience with the rifle I built.

Origin action with a proof 7prc Prefit. The bolt would close but with a little force. I was expecting bolt to essentially drop without touching it and was a little concerned. I talked with a gunsmith, and he said it if closes then you’re safe. He offered to take a 1-2 thousand off it, but I figured if it’s safe, it’s safe so I never touched it.

The rifle shoots great and cycles Hornadys factory ammo no problem. Glad I never took anything off the barrel looking back.