• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New from Maryland

Baron23

Check 6
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Mar 19, 2020
    Maryland
    Hi guys – I am brand new to SH and I’m also fairly new to rifle shooting. I do warmly invite you to laugh and make fun of me, my ignorance, and my dumb questions as I post in other threads! LOL Also, yes…I am verbose and will try to not let this turn into a wall of text, but will probably fail.

I’m a long time shotgunner, was a competitive American Skeet shooter for a number of decades, but at 67, with a heinous lumbar, and a few heart attacks in the bank, swinging a 10 lb shotgun 500 times in a weekend in Maryland’s 100+ summer mid-Atlantic heat is just not happening anymore.

So, recently I have taken an interest in rifle shooting and have found long range precision shooting to be a fascinating and engaging subject. I have enjoyed educating myself via content on the net and friends here in Maryland that do long range target shooting and crop damage hunting at range.

But, I don’t know much about rifles…or at least not as compared to shotguns. If a new clay target shooter came up to me and said that they were going to buy a Kolar with 32” barrels, with one look at them I can pretty much tell if this 12 lb gun will be too much for them. And, I know quite a bit about shotgun stock fitting, mount and stance, weight and balance considerations, choke selection, etc. Rifles, not so much.

I do own a nice deer gun that I have also enjoyed shooting at the range. It’s a Remington 5R SS Gen 2 SS in an HS stock in .308 with a 20” barrel and a Harrells brake. It’s a very nice gun and seems to have a good barrel, shoots well, and is a length and weight that I like for this purpose.