• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report New guy range report: Remington 5R .308, pic's

matt33

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2009
Bradford/Susquehanna Co, PA
While I’ve been shooting AR’s, hunting rifles, shotguns and pistols for a while, I’m new to precision shooting. For the last few months I’ve been piecing together my first long range precision rig. The rifle is a Remington .308 5R. My initial impression was very favorable. The stock is very nice and the stainless steel is bead blasted to an even matte finish. At some point, I’d like to have the metal coated black. I also adjusted the X-Mark trigger to a crisp 2 lbs 12 oz.

For an optic I choose a Leupold Mark 4 6.5-20x50mm with a TMR reticle. A few weeks ago, I went to my local Nightforce dealer with the full intention of selecting a reticle and placing an order for a 5.5-22x NXS. I realize I’m in the minority, but I actually felt like the MK4 was a better fit for my needs. I recognize that the NF is a more robust optic, but the MK4 was actually as clear if not a little clearer to my eye. I also liked the TMR reticle more than any of the NF reticles. All of the above goes against all of my online research, but nonetheless, I’m really impressed with the Leupold. I mounted the scope using Seekins rings/base from Liberty Optics. They are also very impressive.