• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New in AZ

AZDarkKnight

Private
Minuteman
Mar 21, 2024
Tucson, AZ
Hello all, thanks for having me. I'm a novice in the hunting world and anything long range. I'm pretty seasoned with pistol.
Just looking to continue to learn and advance my skills.

Anyone know of any good long range desert spots not too far from Tucson? Preferably not more than an hour drive, and at least 200 yards, but longer is good too.

Anyone know of any good long range desert spots not too far from Tucson? Preferably not more than an hour drive, and at least 200 yards, but longer is good too.

If anyone has a spot, I doubt they will post it publicly.

I haven't really had much luck, it seems like most public areas in the general area are also used by offroaders/4x4'ers, hikers, bikers, etc. However, I haven't done any serious scouting, I've mostly relegated my shooting to shooting ranges.

Your best bet is to look up BLM land, and do your own scouting from there. Use Google Earth to virtually scout the area, to determine the terrain, topography, any potential shooting lanes, roads/access, etc. You can use the provided measuring tool to rough out shooting distances for potential spots. You can cross reference free apps like All-trails, which will show if there are any hiking trails in the area that you should be aware of. ON-X is a decent app as well for such purposes. From there you will have to scout out any identified potential areas to see how feasible they are in reality.