• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New member, first post, PRS build questions.

iceathlete

Private
Minuteman
Jul 14, 2022
USA
If this question has been beaten to death I apologize for repeating the ask.
I'm new to competitive shooting and live where a high number of PRS matches are within a few hours drive for me.
Building a PRS rifle and trying to decide on BRA or GT.
As of this posting I cant find any BRA brass, I don't mind fire forming br if needed. Also can't find any BRA ammo.
GT brass seems less hard to find and eagle eye has some GT ammo in stock.
Building from scratch, and I have no dies or brass of of now. Which direction would you go?
Also looked at the top 30 guys in PRS and the majority are running dasher, with a few BRA, and NO GT. Can anyone comment on that?
Thanks for taking the time to read and respond.

Reactions: 338dude
I went from 6.5 Creedmoor to 6 BRA after research. I chose 6 BRA because I had met many shooters moving or moved to it with great success. I also liked the fact that it has a longer neck than the Dasher or GT, so when I'm seating bullets I have a little more "runway" to use for optimal seating depth. I LOVE Alpha 6 BRA brass because there was NO breakin. I literally loaded a decent weight based on input from my facebook community (https://www.facebook.com/groups/326986514743858/) and shot a match...Had the best match that far in my PRS shooting! Dasher is also a good round and being used more and more. The other thing I liked about the 6 BRA is that I can run slower FPS (currently 2760) and prolong my barrel life AND, a lot of the pros are slowing down so they can track their bullet trace after the shot.

Included some links below...Good luck!