• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

New Member / New Rifle Build

MaineMan308

Private
Minuteman
Nov 15, 2009
Oklahoma
Hey, I'm new to the form and I thought I should post a pic of my new rifle I just put together. I'm currently a college student on a internship at Remington Arms in Ilion NY. I tried making a sniper rifle and this is what I came up with that wasn't out of my price range. So far I've gotten a 0.55 inch group at 200 yards.

img0415u.jpg

img0414iz.jpg

img0435s.jpg

Re: New Member / New Rifle Build

camoman, sniper rifles are used by snipers....tactical rifles are used by all....just sayin....

I used the rings that came with the scope and it has a 35mm tube. I looked online and didn't really find many other rings that would sit any lower for such a big main tube. But the eye relief and everything seem to be good for me

I posted a pic of the 3 shot group above. I measured the group from the centers on the holes not the outer edges. Not sure how I was supposed to measure it. Some people say outsides others centers.

Congrats and well come to the hide.

scott

welcome to the hide, you should hook a fellow New Yorker up with an action or two
wink.gif

I'd look into getting some lower rings so you'll be able to get a more solid cheek weld, also really should be a 5 to 10 shot groups not three.

Overall though, I'd say you're off to a good start and keep up the good work.

Welcome to SH bro enjoy your time here!!