• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

New member, new rifle, special application

Md25v

Private
Minuteman
Jul 20, 2011
Hey guys, this is my first post. I've been reading up on the sight for a few years and finally decided to join.

Backround- Eight years U.S. Army, six active/two reserve. Squad Designated Marksman (NOT sniper) for three years.

I have been shooting and hunting for twenty years and was just starting to compete when I was injured. I was in a car accident a little over a year ago where a drunk driver crossed into oncoming traffic and hit us head on at 65mph on a highway. I was not able to shoot for a while and have recently been having a lot of trouble with the recoil anything over a .223rem. This is a humiliation for me because I really liked my big-boom guns from 300wssm to 338lm and now that I can't shoot them I am having a hard time dealing with it. I am awaiting a third back surgery in a month and have high hopes that I will be back to shooting the big ones in another six months or so.

With all that said, I decided to get a muzzle break on a .308 savage build I was working on. I know that there is typically no reason to break a small round like a .308 but medically it is the only way I can shoot until after the surgeries are finished. I did some research and found that the JP break was one of the most effective, albeit one of the ugliest as well.

So, here is my build.
Savage 10fp
Action trued and custom recoil lug installed
Stock- B&C Tac-Medalist, bedded with devcon
Break- JP Howitzer
Rail-Badger 20MOA