• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New member with question

Lineman711

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 5, 2009
TN
New here, just have a quick question. I'm new to long range shooting, been hunting and pistol shooting a long time but never shot over 300 yards. Been a reloader for 7 years. I'm picking up my new Rem 5R this Friday. I've got some Leupold LR bases and rings here I plan to put on the rifle along with a Weaver V16 when I get it home. Flame away, but it's what I have on hand at the moment and will have to do until I can save for a better optic/mounting system. Got some 175gr SMKs and plenty of Varget so I guess that's where I'll start in load development. Just curious if I would have any problems getting to 600 yards with the Weaver and Leupold bases. If I remember correctly, I'm thinking that the LR base that I have has around 10 MOA cant on it. Thanks for any help and, being new to long range shooting, I'm open to any suggestions. Thank you again.

Re: New member with question

Everyone has got to start somewhere.

Should get there OK.Depends on where in the adjustment range of the scope you end up when sighted in.

Welcome to the hide.

Steve

Thank you Steve.

I knew that 800-1000 yards would be pushing it with that setup, but thought 600 would be within reason.

I guess another option would be to sell the Weaver and order a Super Sniper and see how I like it. Reading the reviews make it seem like a good deal. Only problem is my budget right now is a strict $400, and I'm not sure how well I'd like the rear focus model.