• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New Prime 6.5 Creedmoor ammo

Ol' RD

Grouchy Old Curmudgeon
Minuteman
Aug 30, 2008
Shelby County Alabama
First, I'll get the disclaimers outta the way. I am in no way affiliated with Prime Ammo nor Jim O'shaughnessy other than as a customer. I did give to Prime Ammo legal fund and have spoken several times with Jim. I am a Automation Engineer by profession and other than being OCD about my hand loads I don't classify myself as all that special.
FedEx delivered the case this evening and since I was going to the range anyway I figured what the heck, let's take the 6.5 out and see what this stuff will do?

58656888070__DBCF5C4C-5123-4F04-B141-2221009ADF34.JPG

The rifle is a pretty much stock 6.5 Creedmoor RPR 24" barrel with a Magpul PRS gen 3 stock, Vortex Razor Gen2 with EBR-2c reticle.
After watching Franks video I judged the prime 130 gr ammo flies about where my hand loads did so I didn't touch the scope at all.
Just loaded 4 into the magazine.

The first round I put on paper at 100 yards and had the lab radar on to give me FPS.

Here is the first shot

T+150JSASaOPkFyeMNo8wA.jpg
the lab radar gave me a 2830 FPS
58656924011__A38092D6-207C-4DA7-ACD2-4197CDFB5CC0.JPG

After seeing that I went to the farthest plate I have at our club. 517 yards.
I didn't dial the elevation I just came up 2.4 mils on the reticle and let shot 2,3 and 4 go.
here they are

58656989634__CC4D64A2-51C3-4738-829B-EF1CC07CECD2.JPG

The three shot group is roughly half MOA.
Not bad for an old guy with bad eyes.

Bravo Zulu to Jim O'shaughnessy and all the Prime Ammo employees.
This stuff rocks. Now get to work on the rest of the market. I would love some 308 but 223 has bigger market share.
I can wait.