• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New reloader, . 223 oal variance

Chanceterrill

Private
Minuteman
Sep 11, 2021
Ohio
I'm new to reloading and I have just started reloading 223 with a redding Bigg Boss 2 and redding dies. When using 24.1 grains of varget, my 77 grain smk have a variance of up to .020" in oal......(im measuring base to meplat)..... They are supposed to all be 2.255"......is this normal/OK?

At 100 yards, I'm also getting around a
1.25" average...... Worst groups with fliers are 1.6 - 1.7" ..... Best are .7- .8" but most are 1.1 - 1.3...... Bipod in front rear bag in back... Leupold 4-12 vx tri moa with parallax.... Leupold Mark ar mount, gun is a ruger mpr, 18 inch chf barrel, freefloated rail, 2 stage 4.5 lb trigger...... I grew up hunting but only got serious about shooting about a year n a half ago, is this just shitty shooting? I've shot 5/8 groups before with the gun but I can't do it consistently and tightest I've got it with handloads is around 3/4......any feedback is greatly appreciated

Do you have a way to measure BTO? That's how you should do it for load development, because it's repeatable to measure off the ogive, just make sure your OAL is within your mag length.

No one will be able to tell you for sure if it's you or the gun or your load, with that info. Do you have some targets you can post? AR's are harder to shoot accurately than bolt guns, and especially so if your fundamentals aren't good. Have you shot this gun with any quality factory ammo and if so what was the result? What's the jump on the bullet? What's the twist of your barrel???