• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New Remington 700p w/ 5R rifling

Dahbarez

Private
Minuteman
Oct 21, 2019
Hi everyone new to the forum.

I just picked up a Remington 700p in 300 win mag with 5r rifling for about 700. I plan on using this rifle for Elk hunting primarily but also want to try and get into some long range shooting. Cause I am new to the Remington 700 world I was wondering if there is any upgrades I should do right away or if I should just throw on a nice optic and get to practicing.

Practice. Print out some quality targets, and shoot the heck out of the thing so you get familiar with it's handling characteristics and performance. No gun is really the same, even if they are mass produced with interchangeable parts. Some may shoot to the left or to the right naturally. Others may be unfamiliar to those who grew up shooting a different style or platform.

You don't just grab a gun and instantly become a world class marksman with it. You have to 'grow into it' first. After you are intimately familiar with how the rifle handles at different ranges, then you can modify to your heart's desire. But now? Go out, shoot, observe, and have fun...

Reactions: Desert Raven
Practice. Print out some quality targets, and shoot the heck out of the thing so you get familiar with it's handling characteristics and performance. No gun is really the same, even if they are mass produced with interchangeable parts. Some may shoot to the left or to the right naturally. Others may be unfamiliar to those who grew up shooting a different style or platform.