• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New Rifle Break In

M1A1TankerTom

Private
Minuteman
Apr 18, 2009
USA
Hey all, I am brand new to precision rifles and need some advice. I just picked up a Rem 700 (SPS Tactical, .308). What is the proper way to "break in" the rifle. I have done a little searching around the site and some people say break in is not necessary, some talk of polishing rounds, some talk of polishing the barrel. I dont know what is necessary, I want to do whatever will make my rifle as accurate as possilbe. What do you recomend for a new rifle?

By the way I will be shooting Federal Gold Medal Match 175 grain rounds.

Re: New Rifle Break In

Throw it down a flight of stairs.

Then spit on it.

Then put your optics on it. Then clean the barrel to get any machining gunk out.

Then shoot it until accuracy suffers.

Then clean it again.

Feel free to throw it down the steps as many times as necessary.

Dude, just shoot it. It wants to be shot. You want to shoot it. Simple.

I can tell you what I do. Clean it well before you shoot it the first time. Go shooting, when the accuracy starts to falloff clean it again.

You have a good beginner rifle right there, just shoot the piss out of it. Personally, im with everyone else. There is no need to use any lapping ammo, or anything fancy. Just shoot it. Your rifle should like 175's but also give others a try, we have had good success with 168's in the sps tacticals.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BOLTRIPPER</div><div class="ubbcode-body">some one post NOBODY's barrel break in procedure...... </div></div>

You beat me to it