• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to AR-15, seeking advice/guidance/education on ambi rifles

748rpilot

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Mar 18, 2023
USA
Hey folks, I know this is discussed often and I've read a fair few of the threads but still wound up unsatisfied, so I've come seeking advice (guidance? education?) on picking out my first AR platform rifle. I'm new to semi-auto rifles (but not rifles, or shooting in general) and depth and breadth of AR platform offerings feels daunting.

My main use case for the rifle is first of all, learning to shoot the AR platform and becoming proficient with it standing/kneeling/prone/bench. Then, I'd like to start shooting some practical rifle matches in order to continue evolving. Additionally, I've been wanting to get back into hunting and would like to chase Coyote, Boar and possibly Javelina, likely in that order of frequency. I'm planning to shoot iron sights for the first year or so to help build the foundation.

I shoot left-handed and I can't help but feel that I really want a fully ambidextrous platform, which I think would also be a bonus when shooting matches. I'd also like to buy a higher quality rifle out of the gate, so as to minimize chasing issues or getting caught up in swapping out parts. From my research, I think I'd like to stick with a DI rifle. I figure that most of my shooting will be done between 25 and 200 yards, though I would also like to try reaching out to 400-600 (once I go optics). I place a pretty high emphasis on quality, reliability and accuracy; I want to pick it up and go, not become a rifle surgeon. I'm aware that accuracy is unlikely to match my bolt guns, so that's OK.