• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

new to bushing / competition dies a few questions.

locotrician

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Dec 15, 2008
North east, united states
I have been reloading for 11 years now but have yet to use anyting but "standard" die sets , regular seater and fl die. i have just ordered my first set of competition dies redding s bushing fl die and micrometer top seater. i can make several assumptions on how to use these but i need to ask to be sure this may be a little more basic than i need but i want a good understanding so here it goes
1. How do i use the micrometer seater to change distance from the lands or amount of freebore?
2 How do i know what size bushing to buy ? will i need more than one ?
3 How do i set up each die in the press is it any different than standard dies?
4 how do i know how much i am setting the shoulder back ? say i want to set it back .002 how do i know i have doe that ?
5 Any little tricks to help keep my ammo concentric ?

cartridge is .338-.300 RUM

Re: new to bushing / competition dies a few questi

1. You will need a means to measure the distance of your bullet's ogive from the lands in the chamber throat. Then you can adjust your seating depth. Sinclair has these.
2. Mike the neck diameter of a loaded round, then order a bushing at least .002" smaller. That may, or may not work with all bullet/brass combos. I usually order bushing in a .003" spread - .001 under, .002 under, and .003 under.
3. The dies are set up the same as 'regular' dies.