• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

New to bushing dies - Help!

JDLawrence3

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Dec 25, 2021
Lincoln, DE
I am new to using bushing dies. I understand how to figure out what bushing size I need, but do I still need to use a FL sizing die for any reason? Does the bushing die bump the shoulder back? Do I need to use both? Thanks in advance.

I probably should have added that I have RCBS Matchmaster dies.
Screenshot_20221230_100517_Chrome.jpg

Last edited:
So run a full length die, followed by neck sizing die? Then primer, powder, projectile, seating die?

Well I already have the full length bushing die set pictured above. Just curious if that will do it all in one step.

When I was sorting out my loading process for my 6.5CM rifle back in 2017, a lot of advice centered around neck sizing with a bushing to set the neck tension. So I played around with different sizes of bushing dies from .289 to .291 until I got what I thought was the right neck tension. Then after a few firings I was having a hard time closing the bolt and realized the neck die wasn’t bumping my shoulder back, so I bought a shoulder bump die w/ bushing. The rifle liked it so I stuck to that process for the last 5 years.