• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to ELR & Spotter Scope Recommendation

cgilbert37

Private
Minuteman
Aug 14, 2020
Hi All,

I'm new to civilian long range shooting (attended the Sniper's leader course about 10 years ago).

I seem to be doing fine ~1000 yards but my current spotter scope is weak. I've never owned a good one and don't mind spending money on something decent as I tend to keep things for a while.

I was looking at this Celestron 52268 C90 Mak Spotting scope:

Overkill? Can anyone make a better recommendation?

Thanks

This is more what you should be looking at, in my experience/opinion:

Though personally I prefer the fixed 22x eye-piece, with the integral MIL (or MOA, if that's how you roll) reticle.

You're not trying to see bullet holes at distance, but mirage, trace, and impacts.

Reactions: Kalthoff
You should let us know what range you are considering spending on a scope; since you asked about a $211 scope and got recommended a $2,500 setup. Seems like most recommended equipment on this kind of thread is always top end stuff. There is nothing wrong with that, just might help speed things up if you set boundaries.

Mike

Budget?
Max distance?

I use a bushy legend T, certainly not premium glass but the reticle is a great help and I’ve spotted hits now to 3200 yards with it.

Reactions: TripleBull
Consider a good pair of 15x bino’s as well. I see a lot of shooters are moving away from spotters, including me!